OAFP Communiqué

Volume 1-Nov 2023

We wish to present the first OAFP Communiqué, of which there will be more to follow. We look forward to your emailed suggestions, on events, or other matters you would like to see covered.

For those interested, we ask you to submit your confirmation form to attend the luncheon for Outstanding Legislator Award at Queens Park on Thursday, November 30.

[Confirmation Form attached below]

This event will honour the distinguished public service and legislative careers of Evelyn Gigantes, Elinor Caplan and Elizabeth Witmer.

Highlights of Distinguished Service Award Luncheon for The Hon. David William Warner - October 5, 2023

On this afternoon a well attended luncheon with broad representation of former and current Members, family, colleagues and friends was held at the Legislative Building in recognition of *The Hon. David Warner*:



Marcia Boyd, Linda Mitchell, Patricia and David Warner.

He served as Speaker during the term of office of the Rae government (1990-95) and was the first Ontario Speaker elected by secret ballot of his peers. David served as Chair of the OAFP from 2012 to 2021 and was its tireless champion. He had a distinguished career in education and public service from the seventies to the nineties. He proudly represented his local community of Scarborough-Ellesmere.

As demonstrated at this event he is highly respected and regarded by his family, colleagues and former staffers, many of whom were in attendance. A long-standing and beloved former staffer in the Speaker's Office - Gloria Richards - attended this event.



Judy Marsales, Chair, OAFP



Hon. David Warner and Hon. Ted Arnott

Judy Marsales (Chair, OAFP) gave the welcoming address at this event. Marilyn Churley (Chair, Awards Committee) presented the Distinguished Service Award to David on behalf of the OAFP.

Opening remarks were warmly delivered by the current Speaker *The Hon. Ted Arnott*.

Other former Members who delivered remarks included: *Joyce Savoline*, *Karen Haslam*, *The Hon. Dave Levac* [former Speaker], *Phil Gillies*, and *John Parker*.

Special remarks on David's outstanding career were delivered by the distinguished former Queen's Park journalist Robert Fisher.

David spoke warmly and passionately in acceptance of this award.

Rosario Marchese, who served as a Member during David's term as Speaker, delivered the closing remarks.

Other former Members in attendance - many of whom travelled in to Toronto - included Dianne Cunningham, Cheri DiNovo, Anthony Perruzza, Jean-Marc Lalonde, Karen Haslam, John Wilkinson, Percy Hatfield, Ron Kanter, Donna Cansfield, Marilyn Mushinski, Cam Jackson and Steve Gilchrist. Helen Breslauer - the widow of the late Dr. Bob Frankford - also attended.

Current Members who attended or made an appearance included *Laurie Scott*, *Monique Taylor*, *Peggy Sattler*, *Bob Bailey*, *Ernie Hardeman*, *Teresa Armstrong*, *Chris Glover*, *Tom Rakocevic*, *Mike Schreiner*, and *Marit Stiles* (Leader of the Opposition). Ms Stiles also made a presentation to David on behalf of the NDP caucus.



Monique Taylor, Peggy Sattler, David Warner, and Jennifer French

David Warner feels strongly in keeping former Members connected and believes in recognizing their contributions, even after their terms of office end. His passion and dedication to the OAFP are truly remarkable and are much appreciated by all.

This event demonstrates that warm personal ties are built and maintained across party lines among Members through the OAFP.



David Warner and Marit Stiles.

Special thanks are due to Mobina Bhimani, Executive Assistant, for her role in most capably organizing this event.

Other Milestones

Members often receive recognition and awards for other aspects of their careers or contributions to public service.

In 2021 former Speaker Dave Levac received the Order of Ontario.

In 2023 the Hon. Elizabeth Witmer and the Hon. Dianne Cummingham will be receiving the Order of Ontario.

It's wonderful to see our members being recognized for their outstanding contributions to Ontario, both in their political careers and in their personal contributions outside politics.

Congratulations for a job well done and for your dedication and commitment to the people of Ontario.

OAFP Board of Directors

Judy Marsales, Chair

John Parker, Secretary/Treasurer

Annamarie Castrilli, Education Foundation

Steve Gilchrist, Communications

Marilyn Churley, Events

Rosario Marchese, Education

David Warner, Past Chair

Members-at-Large

Joyce Savoline Karen Haslam Caroline DiCocco Randy Hope Doug Moffatt Cam Jackson

Mobina Bhimani, Executive Assistant

Email: oafp@ola.org

Phone: 416-325-4647

Newsletters Writers and Editors

Jerry Richmond, Writer

Callum Denault, Intern

Joyce Savcline, Board Member