Political Passages

It has always been the custom, at the Legislative Assembly, to pay tribute to former MPP's after their death. Unfortunately, with the hectic pace in the Chamber, and the limited amount of time for debate, those tributes often came well after the passage of the Member. In addition, they were usually held on very short notice, with no time to invite family, friends and former co-workers to the ceremony.

Thanks to a concerted effort by the Speaker, the Clerk and the House Leaders of the three political parties, a formalized structure to recognize the public service of former Members has now been put in place. The Clerk's office, often with the assistance of our Association, contacts family members and arranges tributes which accommodate their schedules, whenever possible. The tributes are then organized at the time of peak attendance of current MPP's, namely immediately preceding Question Period on Tuesday and Wednesday mornings.

Over the past several months, there have been many interesting and moving testimonials offered for deceased members and we have provided links the record, in Hansard, as well as links to any published obituaries we can locate.

Every year, during the Association Annual General Meeting, we hold an "OMEGA Ceremony" and remember the MPP's we have lost in the previous year. It is the least we can do to recognize the extraordinary public service these men and women have offered their communities and the province.

Recent Tributes

Mr. Howard Sheppard (PC) (1981-1987)
December 9, 2015

Mr. Frank Sheehan (PC) (1995-1999)
April 12, 2016

Mr. Bob Frankford (NDP) (1990-1995)
March 22, 2016

Mr. John Clement (PC) (1971-1975)
February 16, 2016

Mr. George Ashe (PC) (1977-1987)
March 8, 2016

Mr. Lorne Maeck (PC) (1971-1981)
March 9, 2016

Mr. Gary Leadston (PC) (1995-1999)
April 19, 2016

Mr. Peter Kormos (NDP) (1988-2007)
April 20, 2016

Mrs. Joan Fawcett (LIB) (1987-1995)
May 3, 2016

Mr. Keith Brown (PC) (1959-1967)
May 4, 2016

Mr. Leo Jordan (PC) (1990-1999)
May 10, 2016

Mr. Leonard Quilty (LIB) (1958-1975)
June 1, 2016 (planned) 

Mr. Cliff Pilkey (NDP)
June 8, 2016 (planned)

Mr. Charlie Tatham (LIB) (1987-1990)
September 13, 2016 (planned)